Uncanniness

Last spring I got the opportunity to study abroad in Florence, Italy which was one of the most amazing experiences of my life so far. Going into it I know that there was going to be some cultural differences with the way of life but what stood out to me was the way of dress. You could easily spot an American student in the streets and even I could recognize it. Sometimes going to class I wouldn’t dress up as much but wearing yoga pants or sweatpants I felt that I stood out like a sore thumb. Everyone would be particularly dressed up and I felt uncomfortable or that people could tell I was American and I wanted to go home and change. I had a familiar feeling when it started to become warmer. In the states especially New England the moment it becomes a little warmer it is not uncommon to see someone dressed in shorts and flip flops but that was not the case in Florence. I found myself walking around in flip flops and the person walking next to me was wearing a puffy winter coat. I became aware of these differences and wanted to adapt to my surroundings and that is what I did.

Leave a Reply

