Picture Day Uncanniness

Similar to my first fashion moment, a time where I totally felt out of place was not just one specific memory, but rather an event at school every year. When picture day in elementary school rolled around, my mom would dress me in an outfit that, to me at the time, was completely absurd. I don’t remember everything, but I do know I looked like I was going to some formal event. It felt like every single one of my friends were in their regular clothes, like it was just another day at school. Not me though. I had to be dressed in pleated skirts, matching button ups with matching sweaters on top, Mary Jane shoes, and every matching accessory she could find. Although she made me dress nicely every day, picture day was over the top. And for what?! You could only see from the shoulders up in the actual pictures. Plus, I had to walk around school all day in the outfit for a picture that took 5 minutes. I remember feeling so out of place. I also remember feeling like my mom was the only parent who cared about what the school pictures looked like. Why did I have to be the only one whose parent cared about the pictures?? I thought it was dreadful, and I felt so out of place every year. There was really nothing I could do about it too, because my mom wouldn’t hear any of it. There have been many times in my life where I have felt out of place, but picture day is the most specific “story” I can remember.

Leave a Reply

