Blog #1 – Group B

After completing the Zeitgeist worksheet, I have to say, I was concerned. As a TMD senior at URI I have taken my fair share of fashion courses and the history of fashion is definitely much easier to follow and track than it is today. Things are a lot less clear cut and hard to predict in the fashion world now and that is concerning, especially for merchandising majors like myself. Completing the worksheet helped me understand the industry as best as I could. Something that stood out to me in my analysis was the innovators and fashion leaders category. My group agreed that Kanye West could be considered a fashion innovator of our time. I think this is a great example because his new collection was just shown in NY Fashion Week and there was a lot of controversy about the show. Ever since that, I have seen Yeezy inspired clothing and shoes on all the websites that I frequently shop. Lulus.com and Missguided.com are two websites in which I have started seeing the clear strap/heel shoes that were shown in Yeezy’s collection.

Leave a Reply

