Trend Beacons – Rebeccca Nader

Beacons are observing at a global standpoint which directly relates to the globalization factor of the fashion world. I further connected this film to our course material by the idea of “you cannot make a trend”. This is especially true due to all of the ideas we discussed in today’s fashion world. We collectively came up with a large amount of various concepts we see in today’s society. This includes the idea of cultures and how borders and boundaries define what exactly your fashion is defined as. Also as discussed previously, we thrive off of globalization which is constantly changing. Therefore, you are truly unable to make a trend because of all the factors we discussed in class. You must let the world take it’s course and act accordingly. There are also many factors that will determine trends. For example, the economy and how much people can afford could create trends in an instant.

An interesting thing learned is clothing makes $284 billion a year within the retail industry. This is very amazing to hear. This also makes me reconsider why clothing is not related to fashion because it is obviously a huge part of this industry. Another interesting thought from Beacons is how speed has killed quality. From a supply chain management major view, I can completely agree with this statement. People have become more dependent on how quickly they can access products that when they arrive they are usually sub-par. This has left billions of customers not satisfied and is ruining businesses everyday. Lastly, I enjoyed how forecasting is a very in depth topic that is crucial to the fashion world every single day. I am very intrigued with forecasting after watching this film and want to research more.

One of the main things I had a hard time grasping was that fashion has nothing to do with clothes. This is what Beacons is analyzing and forecasting for what the customer will want in the future. I believe it does have something to do with clothes. However, this is a topic from class that we all agreed could go on for life to discover what the definition of fashion entails. The last confusing aspect for me was all the relation to “eco-friendly” observations. How is nature and the ecosystem something to consider when predicting trends? Personally, I am not into those concepts at all and it would not affect my fashion outlook.

The main points I took from Trend Beacons is how important forecasting is. As a supply chain management major, I often have to forecast and purchase future products after analyzing consumer consumption. This is particularly why I took on this minor because they coincide so well and constantly overlap. I also really enjoyed how the Zeitgeist fit into this film. I have come increasingly interested in all of the aspects of the Zeitgeist and was now able to understand this film better due to all of our Zeitgeist research.

To a student who has not taken this course I would stress the importance of researching the concepts of the Zeitgeist. It truly helps me understand the wide topic of the fashion world and I was able to understand the video much better. I would also relay how trends are constantly changing right before our eyes and cannot be created. Then how fashion is constantly changing as well due to this.

One thought on “Trend Beacons – Rebeccca Nader

  1. I had many of the same initial thoughts on this documentary as you. I also thought it was extremely interesting that the clothing industry makes $284 billion dollars for the industry! If i had not seen this documentary, I would think your summary of the movie would definitely help me understand, and want to watch!

Leave a Reply

