I, narcissist – vanity, social media, and the human condition

If fashion is about creating images for display in society and is adopted on the basis of what we see in the mirror. What happens when all life is lived in front of a mirror?

“Are the likes of Instagram and Facebook turning us all into vain and attention-seeking narcissists, or were we that way to begin with?”

Source: I, narcissist – vanity, social media, and the human condition | World news | The Guardian

And further:

I thought my Instagram was all mine, until the algorithm proved me wrong

I was starting to understand just how much of my life was subsumed by these companies. But that it’s already too late. “Technological change happens slowly,” he said. “It’s like a warming up and by the time you realize it’s hot, you’ve melted.”

 

Leave a Reply

