About Me- Elizabeth Beasley

Hi everyone!

I have a Bachelor of Science in Textiles, Merchandising, and Design from Middle Tennessee State University. I moved to Rhode Island 2 years ago to pursue my masters. I am currently in my second semester of the TMD graduate program. I’m studying Historic Costume and Textiles. I have not started my thesis yet, but would like to explore anti-fashion and subcultures that stemmed from music movements, specifically grunge and riot grrrls.

I have always been heavily interested in music (especially the 90s Seattle scene). Music has served as an inspiration in all aspects of my life. As I have gotten older, I have become more interested in the connection between music and fashion and how groups of people who listen to certain genres of music have their own style.

I’m hoping this class will give me the foundation I need to explore this idea as well as show me other ways of approaching and thinking about it.

 

One thought on “About Me- Elizabeth Beasley

  1. Welcome! I think you will bring a very interesting perspective to this class. Something along the lines of anti-fashion and subculture would be very interesting as an End-of-Term paper.

Leave a Reply

