About Me – Andrea Mason

Hi,

My name is Andrea Mason and I am a first semester senior at URI with a double major in Textiles, Fashion Merchandising, and Design and Philosophy.

Earlier in school, I was mainly interested in the aesthetic and creative process of fashion design.  Putting outfits together was fun and came easily to me, and I was excited to learn how to design my own.

As time went on, I became increasingly interested in the dress of other people, and what this told me about who they were creatively and individually.  That’s when I took up a second major in philosophy.

Nowadays, I’m still interested in the dress of people, but I am even more so in what dress and fashion truly are to those people, and society and cultures at large; that’s why I am excited to take this class, as it definitely addresses those questions!

 

3 thoughts on “About Me – Andrea Mason

  1. Great! The double major in philosophy will serve you well in this course, I’m sure. It will be very interesting to see how you react to some of the readings later in the term.

  2. I think you’ll get a lot out of this class!

    Have you looked at the field of anthropology? Did you take either of the classes taught by Blair Gagnon? Both talked about ethnicity, culture, and dress.

  3. I took culture, dress, and appearance with Blair, which was really interesting! Really enjoyed learning about the reasons behind specific cultures’ dress that we see imitated today.

Leave a Reply

