Field Impressions: What I Saw

By preparing these past position papers and studying authors such as Heidegger, McLuhan, Geertz, Benjamin, and more, I have been able to observe the world in a way I hadn’t been able to before. When researching for my first and second field observation papers, I wanted to educate the CEO of J. Crew on how beneficial it would be for the company to implement an athletic wear collection as well as advertise using a celebrity endorsement due to the continuing success of large companies like Nike and Under Armour as well as lower tier companies who are also adding athletic wear into their collections. I was able to observe and study the “athleisure” trend that is becoming more and more popular. I was able to recognize that not only myself and my college cultured peers contributed to this trend but individuals in shopping malls, city street, and local cafes all contributed to the trend.

In my final paper, I wanted to be able to research on a whole different topic but still involve the mainstream companies, instead of fast fashion or luxury brands, like the J. Crews and Victorias Secrets.

 

Leave a Reply

