Alex Heidenthal- Thoughts on Fieldwork

I know so many things now that I did not know at the beginning of the term. Coming into this class, I did not know what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised to have gained important knowledge regarding the “World of Fashion.” Before taking this class, I did not fully realize how much went into this industry and world. I think in the back of my mind I always kind of knew that there were a lot of moving parts that made up this world, but I did not fully realize the depth of it. There is so much more to the “World of Fashion” than just the simple questions of “what are you wearing?” This class has taught me to look beyond what is in style and really explore why and how it is in style, etc. The “World of Fashion” cannot be pinpointed to one place or category. This world is different everywhere you go. The “World of Fashion” is largely psycho-demographic like we discussed in class. It exists in different ways all around the world. In different places, there are different ideas, styles, etc. in the world. Here in Rhode Island, the field that will be most relevant for me to study is at the mall. Here in Rhode Island we do not have any big fashion streets, like 5th Avenue, so the mall is the next best place to study the field in this area. If I were able to travel to observe the field, I would absolutely benefit from going to iconic fashion streets in the fashion capitals of the world. The here and now of today is what I consider to be Rhode Island in the present day.

Leave a Reply

