Fashion in Media

Media plays a huge role on fashion and trends. The media is a quick way for anyone to look up the latest trends from anywhere in the world. For example, I follow many fashion accounts on social media from Europe to Australia. Sabo Skirt is one company that I follow on instagram and now shop at online. They are a company located in Australia that always post pictures of girls wearing trendy dresses and other clothing on the beach or in other beautiful places.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 11.56.32 PMScreen Shot 2015-10-05 at 11.56.09 PM Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 11.55.18 PM

Without their media publicity I doubt that I would have ever heard of the brand. The styles that Sabo Skirt showcase on their instagram are different than my local styles due to the fact that they have different weather patterns. Locally the styles are starting to shift more towards fall and colder weather clothing. A local boutique that I follow on instagram has been posting pictures of sweaters and jackets instead of dresses and rompers. Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 12.09.23 AM Screen Shot 2015-10-06 at 12.08.50 AM

This made me realize that a lot of the time a person’s fashion or style is influenced by their location. I would love to buy dresses from Sabo Skirt but it would not be practical right now since I would freeze in them. I still find it interesting to follow brands from around the world to see what is currently fashionable for them and to possibly get inspiration from it.

4 thoughts on “Fashion in Media

  1. I also follow Sabo Skirt on Instagram and I agree that I would have never found their page if it wasn’t for social media and them trying to promote their brand. No matter what season we are currently experiencing, I find it interesting to follow fashion pages or companies’ pages that are not geographically located near us, to do what you said- to get inspiration and see what is currently fashionable or trendy for them. This shows how important social media and technology is in our fashion world.

  2. I also follow Sabo Skirt (and other Australian stores) and even though we aren’t aligned season wise, I enjoy following them because it gives a lot of insight and information. Right now they are posting more summery clothing because their winter is almost over. I think it is interesting to compare if their summer clothes are similar to what was trendy in summer 2015 here, or if they are advancing fashion wise.

  3. Pingback: Blogging Guidelines | Fashion Theory Spring 2016

Leave a Reply

