Molly Robbins Zeitgeist Analysis I

Initially the concept of the Zeitgeist was unfamiliar and somewhat complicated to me. I had never heard the word “Zeitgeist” before and I was not sure what to expect. After completing the worksheet I began to have a better understanding of the whole concept and it actually became very interesting to me. I like how it is used to describe the styles and principles of a certain era. I did find that is was difficult to narrow down and pin point certain events and people that would be considered the most important. The directions were somewhat vague which left a lot of room for interpretation. When filling out the worksheet I noticed that a lot of my concepts were being repeated in other categories. This helped me to see how big of an impact some events can have. I think that some areas we can see some potential problems or dangers are in dominating events and economics. The dominating events category of the Zeitgeist is mainly filled with violent events including 9/11 and many other terrorist attacks. If the future repeats itself there will continue to be more terrorism and violence in generations to come. Economics may be a problem area considering the fact that the economy is always changing and there is always risk of recessions and stock market dips. From analyzing the Zeitgeist it has made me realize how interesting my generation (the millenials) is. We are a generation that is constantly changing and evolving. I think a main reason for this is the continuous innovations in technology. We are a generation that loves social media which helps us stay up to date on the latest trends, news, events, etc. I look forward to hearing more theories about my generation and why we are so different from past generations.

2 thoughts on “Molly Robbins Zeitgeist Analysis I

  1. I definitely agree with what you wrote and I also believe that our generation is ever-changing and constantly moving forward (mainly in the technological area), and it is definitely hard to pinpoint events in our generation and to pick certain events or people to signify each aspect of the zeitgeist worksheet/analysis. I’m also really excited to learn more about or generation and begin to define and understand certain concepts.

  2. Do you think other generations and eras didn’t change quickly? Or that your perception of the change is different because you are living it?

Leave a Reply

