Local Vs Global II

After going back over our discussion I started thinking more on the local aspect. I personally believe globalization is not stopping and that we will continue to see an integration of cultures all over the world, especially in the world of fashion. So if it continues at this rate would it still make sense to use the word “local”. If in 5 years from now all fashions are seen as “global” and no longer geographically specific would it make more sense to use the word “traditional” instead of local? Would that not be a better fit? It maybe “in fashion” to wear a particular African pattern, but when it falls out of fashion globally, and therefore locally, then where does it go? In that grey area, or are we missing a category? I might be getting way ahead of myself but I decided to test my theory out! I decided to enter on google 3 specific searches for each continent. For example I searched, “Asian Fashion” (representing the global view), “Asian Street Fashion” (representing the local) and “Traditional Asian Fashion”. I then did that for each continent. When I typed in “Asian Fashion” I expected to find some hint to traditional clothing, anything that would set it apart from the “Street Fashion” or Western Fashion but I couldn’t, it was the same style. It was not  until I typed in “Traditional” that I got something different. Now using a whole continent might be to general, I would obviously have to go and test this theory in other ways. I’m not going to post all my findings, but they were basically the same for all continents. Here are the first photos found in each of the Asian searches.

Asian Fashion:

asian fashion

Asian Street Fashion:

street-snap-copy

Traditional Asian Fashion

kimono-japanes-traditional-clothing

2 thoughts on “Local Vs Global II

  1. What is the difference between historical and traditional? Might there be a push back in the future to go back to traditional clothing? Keep in mind that “African” and “Asian” include entire continents – full of very different countries and styles, and to group them might be a global approach rather than a local approach. The first three images appear to be Korean, while the last is Japanese – which are vastly different “local” regions.

  2. That is really interesting and I think it would also be very interesting to look at street fashion in some continents or a couple different countries and see if there is something that reflects the traditional fashion in those street clothes.

Leave a Reply

