Steinunn Sigurðardóttir

Last wednesday: „I woke up and put on a knitted sweater, gloves and scarf. This afternoon I discovered that actually everything except my hiking boots, acrylic coat and satin bra was knitted.“
Steinunn is my new inspiration/idol. She is brilliant, artistic, creative and curious. She is an expert on knitting and her lecture on wednesday last week was mindblowing. There are so many things I don’t know about fashion and in that lecture I began to grasp how far from it I am. The joy of being ignorant is the felling of awe you get when discovering something you never knew before. There are three things that are on the top in this lecture. One: knittet items. Apparently there is much more knitted than you would think and not by grandmothers but machines. Two: Dolce and Gabbana. Apparently the new alta moda for men was something else. The first haut couture for men. Three: The hierarchy of fashion. Wow, Icelandic fashion, what you can get in Iceland, only gets up the first three and barely has the toes in the third. I wonder how many Icelanders know this.

IMG_0273

3 thoughts on “Steinunn Sigurðardóttir

  1. I also thought that Steinunns lecture was brilliant and truly mindblowing. Also seeing where the fashion in Iceland stands in this pyramid and the fact that Steinunn said she had yet to see a well written fashion article from an Icelander made me realize that the word fashion is maybe a overused word. People have a different perspective on it and some groups, f.ex. experienced and well educated designers like Steinunn, find other groups, like some selfclaimed fashion bloggers, to be using that word all wrong.

  2. I found it very interesting to find out that most clothes are in fact knitted, I had no idea that my socks were knitted I guess I never thought about how they put fabric together I just thought it all came in a big roll that was made in a pot or something… I felt really stupid but mindblownat the same time!

Leave a Reply

