The Top 10 Moments From Spring/Summer 2015 Couture Week

Link to article: The Top 10 Moments From Spring/Summer 2015 Couture Week.

Question of the day, then: Is there anything to be learned from this? Maybe it’s just because I have a cold, but I can’t think of a single thing to point to….

Overloaded something-or-other, minimalism, Bianca Jagger’s suit for the thousandth time, Bowie-influence for the thousandth time, bla bla bla… If these are the ten most memorable moments, then this was a dismal week….

(OK, I’m also being deliberately a little ornery – maybe I’ll have something more positive to say on Monday…)

(6 hours later:)

OK, the obvious point is “of course, there’s something to learn from it!” Pointing to the absence of anything new; pointing to the rehashed and slightly desperate use of tried-and-true references… This is also a pointing to something worth looking at. If the Couture Week looks like this, full of desperate rehash and overload; form over substance – icing on icing, on the same old cake – then things are really getting to the point of no return.

But, as always, we have to ask: What next?

3 thoughts on “The Top 10 Moments From Spring/Summer 2015 Couture Week

  1. I kind of agree with you that I was not all that impressed with couture week this year. I do not think that there was much originality, Elie Saab had the really romantic gowns with a lot of sheer fabric, Chanel tried to do some “new” take on the Chanel suit and Versace did this formfitting clothes with cut-outs in kind of shiny fabric, there were no surprises. I was however impressed by Jean Paul Gaultier. I thought it was great how he used both older models and younger models, it made his show more interesting. Clothes wise I also happened to like his show the best of the shows that I have seen so far. I liked how he mixed clothes that I find actually wearable with clothes that I do not think are meant for anything else but the runway (borderline Avant-garde?). After the discussions last week I kind a think that I agree that maybe the couture fashion is frozen but I still have hopes that it can turn things around.

    • Oh good. I thought I was just being an old crank… I have to take another look at Gaultier. It’s an interesting trend, this tilt toward the “older person.” I wonder if it’s yet another step in the aging of the Baby Boomers (’68 generation) or whether it’s some other kind of balancing in the culture? (There was an ad last night in the Superbowl featuring people that were 100 years old, or close to…)

Leave a Reply

