How Madewell Bought And Sold My Family’s History

This should be required reading, and I would have made it so, if it had appeared a couple of weeks ago. Touches on –and illuminates– a number of the concepts and topics we’ve been examining: Aura, nearness, authenticity, “the now” “the here” and on and on.

I’m heavily recommending this and would love to see comments and thoughts.

How Madewell Bought And Sold My Family’s History.

One thought on “How Madewell Bought And Sold My Family’s History

  1. After reading this article I was astonished to learn the history behind Madewell. I would have never guessed that the original label had no ties to J.crew until recently. Personally, I had mixed feelings about this story. I would have been pissed to discover that my ancestors hard work behind the label was not acknowledged when coming back to life. On the other hand I would have ben flattered to learn that the relaunch of Madewell was a way to connect Americans to a brand they once loved. It was interesting to learn how this specific family did not put up much of a fight for the Madewell label. Personally, I think its because the relaunched Madewell adheres to the same standards of making high quality clothing as it did in the past. While I feel sorry that the Madewell family could not enjoy the profits behind the relaunch of this label, Im glad they are content with how their family name is being represented. After reading this article, its crazy to think that well known companies have the ability to take designs from smaller business in the early 1900’s. It really makes you wonder about what products are authentic vintage pieces and what products are a relaunched version of themselves.

Leave a Reply

